Singapura

I first heard about Singapura after perusing the New York Times a few months ago. I never consistently rely on reading food reviews, but I needed inspiration since I have felt disconnected with the up & coming restaurant scene. After reading SeriousEats, I was reminded yet again of this place and decided to go before the New Year!

Sandwiched in between the Indian restaurants in Curry Hill, Singapura is situated next to Dhaba, one of my favorite spots in the area. The space is narrow, and the ambience intimate, with warm colorful lights shining down on the red upholstered booths and walls decorated with abacuses. The staff is friendly and seated us instantly despite the fact that the restaurant was full.

Malay Fried Chicken

Malay Fried Chicken

We started off with glasses of wine and ordered the Malay Fried Chicken ($7) and the Roti Canai ($5) with chicken curry. The Malay fried chicken came with sides of Sriracha and garlic sauce. The skin of the chicken was crisp and satisfying, but the flavor wasn’t anything beyond good. The roti was predictable and safe, and like the chicken, not memorable.

For entrees, we ordered the beef

Massaman curry

Massaman curry

Massaman curry ($15), Sizzling Lamb ($15) and shrimp Chili Garlic Noodles ($14). The Massaman curry, a simple, mild yellow curry with potatoes, peppers and peanuts is lightly spiced but very flavorful. The Sizzling Lamb, true to its name, arrives in iron platter reminding me of fajitas. Last but not least the shrimp Chili Garlic Noodles, my personal favorite, with scallions, bell peppers and shrimp.

Looking back on the meal, I wasn’t disappointed with any dish, but I can say that there are new dishes I would try the next time I return. In fact, we got take out from here the same weekend and ordered the roti (again) but tried the chicken satay, shrimp pad thai, nasi goreng.

Food: 3.5/5

Service: 4/5

Ambiance: 4/5

Value: 4/5

Overall: 3.9/5

Leave a Reply

